book review {{close enough to hear God breathe}}

The story of the book, Close Enough to Hear God Breathe by Greg Paul is one of redemption.  Not necessarily the one time redemption that Christians commonly refer to in Christ, but a redemption that continues to happen throughout our lives.  Paul divides his book into five sections:  The Heart of the Matter, Creation, The Fall, Redemption, and Consummation.  His stories are centered around personal anecdotes from his life in ministry as well as from his personal life.  Stories of love, loss, and redemption — mostly in very tangible ways.  One quote that I did particularly like from his book is, “I want to ‘hear’ the story God is telling me—the Great Story of his passionate love for all humanity and all creation. Wisdom is being able also to find my own personal little story within that big one. I want my spirit to vibrate at the same frequency as the Spirit.”

The story that Greg Paul tells in this book is one that is very familiar with Christian books of substitution theologies and personal salvation.  There were some stories and ideas in the book that I could really connect with, and there were others that I could not reach past the theological statements of ‘everything happens for a reason’ to find their redemptive qualities.  Paul often speaks of his own family and people he encounters through his ministry to illustrate his stories.  Often, he offers up a problem, his old thought process, an enlightening personal redemption story, and then a new thought process.  While none of this is necessarily wrong, it becomes predictable and repetitive throughout the book.  Overall, I would give the book 2/5 stars.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

 

 

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation :)

