every breath you take … i’ll be watching you…

You know that creepy Sting/Police song, “Every Breath You Take”?:  the one that sings like a love song, but stings like a crazy stalker??  Sometimes I misinterpret scripture like this song …. that if i really believed God is everywhere and watching me all the time … that it is a bit creepy.  

but I’m starting to think that it’s a good plan to have God’s presence on me like white on rice on a paper plate in a snowstorm…

Yesterday I was a lay liturgist at my church — which is really just a fancy way of say that I’ll lead on of the printed prayers and read the first scripture during the church service 🙂

We follow the lectionary, and so the old testament reading was from the book of psalms.  I really love the psalm that I read … and it has such a powerful message for me at this point in my life that I thought I would share part of it with all of you as well:

You hem me in, behind and before,
   and lay your hand upon me. 
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
   it is so high that I cannot attain it. 

Where can I go from your spirit?
   Or where can I flee from your presence? 
If I ascend to heaven, you are there;
   if I make my bed in Sheol, you are there. 
If I take the wings of the morning
   and settle at the farthest limits of the sea, 
even there your hand shall lead me,
   and your right hand shall hold me fast. 

Isn’t that beautiful and memorizing and terrifying all at once??  That God knows us and wherever we are … there God is.  Nothing can separate us from the presence of the one who created us.  We are his people.  If I’m making excellent choices in my life … there God is … leading the way and rejoicing with me.  and even when I am walking through dark times and places … God is there, comforting and walking with me through the storm.

Our God is pretty awesome — in all meanings of the word. 🙂

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Sermon Notes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation :)

