cuz ya gotta have faith-a, faith-a, faith-a

Faith is a funny thing.

See, there’s this intersection that I frequent on my commute to and from work in good ole Cary, IL.  It’s a doozy.

No matter which angle I approach it, or what time of day I get there, or how many times I’ve gone through it in the past … it makes me hold my breath every time.  Check it out here.

It’s a leap of faith every single time.

…and every single time, I hold my breath and wonder why I worry about a head on collision.  There are traffic rules.  There are street lights and stop lights from all directions.  There are clearly marked lines on the road.

But it’s sure a sharp curve.

It’s a leap of faith not just in my own driving … but I think where the worry comes to a peak is that this turn requires me to have faith in the other drivers.  Even if I commit to stay in my little white lines …. one lapse of attention on anyone’s part is going to end up in disaster.

and here comes the tie-in to my everyday life.

on several levels.

1.  I’m pretty sure I have issues with my own faith … the faith that things will work out if they’re supposed to and won’t if they aren’t.  Sometimes I feel as if that isn’t good enough, and I forget that life isn’t always about my plans and my ways.  Crapola.

2.  I have issues with having faith in other people.  Depending on others to get the job done.  I’d like to think I’m getting better at this one … but it’s a process.  I still have doubts.  Crapola Deux.

3.  Also pretty sure that I tend to blame things that don’t work out on outside influences instead of focusing on what I might be able to do to improve myself in the situation.  It’s so much easier for me to blame the other drivers rather than myself.  This isn’t looking too good for me.

Yep, that faith is a funny thing.

How do you grow your faith?


About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Personal Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to cuz ya gotta have faith-a, faith-a, faith-a

  1. Nikki D. says:

    To answer this one, I have to refer you to my “Genie In A Bottle” blog. It’s based on Philippians 4:6-7, which says, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” God won’t fix the intersection, but he will give you a peace that will guard your heart and mind. Even if things are jacked, God will make things work out 🙂

Join the conversation :)

