book review: the band that played on

The Band That Played On: An Extraordinary Story of the 8 Musicians Who Went Down With the Titanic by Steve Turner was the lesser known tale about the legend of the Titanic Band. Anyone who has read books or watched the movies about the sinking of the Titanic is probably somewhat familiar with the band’s bravery as they realized the enormity of what was happening and both attempted to calm themselves and the other passengers in the moments of extreme panic. He nooks starts off with Some history of Joe this particular band came to be, though mug of this information is inferred since none of he musicians were well-known. They had never played together before this time and most probably took the job as another form of income. There were actually 2 different bands aboard the ship to perform various musical shows throughout the course of the trip.

Personally, I was excited to read this book as I had always admired the bravery that he musicians seems to demonstrate in one of the greatest tragedies of the last century. However, I found the book to start slow which caused me to lose interest quickly. Because the band members were all hired separately, the author describes, to he best of his ability, how they might have had their training and basic upbringing eventually forming the infamous band. There was so much speculation and inference throughout most of the book that it left me feeling as though I had no reason to believe any part of the story except as truly legendary. I realize that information was hard to obtain, but I was still left hanging throughout the book. Overall, I would say 3/5 stars.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation :)

