more than words

yes, friends … it’s time for another song analysis. shuffle mode and the rock of ages musical has brought much of the 80s rock music to my attention as of late, and as this song started playing … i knew it was the perfect song to post.

Extreme … you rock.

I hear this song as God’s words, singing to his people. It’s not always about words — but about how we are choosing to live our lives. Words are important, but there comes a point when we are prone to do a whole lot of talking rather than doing in the world.

What if we lived as though God heard us through our actions. Though we are not saved through our good deeds … the love that dwells inside of us as a result of God’s love for us insists that we act out this love to others. Sometimes reaching is stronger than preaching.

***********************************************

Saying “I love you”
Is not the words I want to hear from you
It’s not that I want you
Not to say, but if you only knew how easy
It would be to show me how you feel

I don’t think God wants us to stop singing his praises. These are wonderful things. But what if we realized that our lives could be a praise song?

More than words
Is all you have to do to make it real
Then you wouldn’t have to say that you love me
‘Cause I’d already know

What would you do if my heart was torn in two
More than words to show you feel
That your love for me is real

What would you say if I took those words away
Then you couldn’t make things new
Just by saying “I love you”

Again, words are good things. They’re one way to communicate. If we didn’t have the language to say “God, I love you,” then could we still communicate this message to our Creator? I think so … if we reach out to our brothers and sisters and love them …. well, perhaps that might mean more to God than words on a page.

Now but I’ve tried to talk to you
And make you understand
All you have to do is close your eyes
And just reach out your hands
And touch me
Hold me close, don’t ever let me go

It’s simple, in theory. Throughout history and the personal history of our lives, God has tried to explain this to us. Go out and love people as yourselves. The greatest commandment. Go out and love. Reach out to others. Reach out to God. You don’t have to worry about having the right words or sayings …. just be. Cling to God.

What will you do today in order for God to feel your love?

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in friday flavor, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation :)

