Old School Train

This is a post that comes from the old-school xanga accounts that my friends and I used to have in college. ahhh, my musical analysis in its early form!

I also find it very entertaining that you can read my enthusiasm in this post that had a date on it from July 7, 2005. Oh, youth is wasted on the young!

Enjoy!

______________________________________________________________

What an awesome song. I have to hand it to Train for this song…not that I wouldn’t anyway, I’m a big fan of their music…but this one is just awesome. Very profound. I think there are several deeper meanings hidden in this song that I know I’ve overlooked before. I bought a CD with this song on it today though, and feel in love with it all over again.

Take the very first lines of the song,

When it rains, it pours and opens doors and floods the floors
we thought would always keep us safe and dry.
And in the midst of sailing ships, we sink our lips into the ones we love
that have to say goodbye.

Wow. Talk about Human Nature 101…alright, so its just an itty bitty glimpse…but still. I think sometimes we get so comfortable in the way that things are, that when they change..and sometimes for the worse….we feel like our world is crumbling before us. We thought this was us being safe in our world, and then, well…life happens. And it seems to all come crashing down. Then there’s the second part…the sailing ships. There are people in our life that sometimes we have to part with…be it death, illness, moving away….we don’t understand why it happens to us. Our world crumbles once again. This brings up the question of why these things do happen to us? We’re decent people right? So why are bad things happening to us? Does everything happen for a reason? Lots of questions that I’m definitely not capable of answering…

And as I float along this ocean,
I can feel you like a notion that won’t seem
to let me go.

I think here, the ocean is our lives…full of ups and downs (waves)….and the song is saying that throughout everything that happens, there is a feeling of some sort of higher power (God!) that is pulling on the hearts of all people. Even though there are bad things in this world…there is something bigger than us, equipped with a bigger plan. God cares about us, doesn’t like to see us suffer…and will never give up on us.

Chorus:

Cause when I look to the sky,
something tells me you’re here with me.
And you make everything all right.
And when I feel like I’m lost,
something tells me you’re here with me,
and I can always find my way when you are here.

Whoa. There it is. The big promise. God is always with us. The writer here feels God’s presence when he looks to the sky. Maybe its something different for you. Maybe its certain people that you see God in, maybe a sanctuary, maybe a quiet spot in your house, maybe somewhere outside that you enjoy…whatever it is, there are always things that remind us of God’s love for us and his presence with us always. Even when we feel like there’s nothing good left in this world…God is with us, and will never leave us. God will always guide us, we just need to listen.

Every word I didn’t say,
caught up in some busy day
and every dance on the kitchen floor we didn’t have before.
And every sunset that we’ll miss,
I’ll wrap it all up in a kiss,
pick you up in all of this when I sail away.

This verse has several elements, I think. First of all…it seems like a confession. A very important part of our worship…a confession that every moment of the writer’s life wasn’t spent in the present. Life wasn’t always cherished, and was sometimes taken for granted. The writer knows here that he didn’t do everything he could’ve done….and is now attempting to make up for it. Have I lived in the moment today? How present was I really during all of my actions? Was my mind wandering when someone needed me to be listening? How can I better myself in this way? Second in this verse…are we doing things that we really want to be doing? Am I just going through a routine everyday and calling it my life? What are the priorities in my life…do I live as though these are my priorities?

After repeating the chorus again, which assures us that God is with us at all times…we come to the bridge:

Whether I am up or down or in or out
or just plane overhead, instead
it just feels like its impossible to fly.
But with you I can spread my wings to see me over everything
that life might send me when I’m hoping it won’t pass me by.

WOW!!! Here’s the climax to the song! No matter what happens in my life…God will ALWAYS be with us! Through Christ, all things are possible! I can live everyday in the moment…not by myself of course, but with God, it is possible.

And the song ends with the chorus repeated twice…wow, what a great song. I’m not sure how many people actually think about song lyrics like this…but I suppose I do it often. Lyrics are powerful. They can express great love. God’s love. The message for this one is fairly clear I think. God is always with us. I don’t know why certain things happen in our lives, good or bad. But I do know that God is always right there with me through all of it. My rejoicing today is for that fact. Among other things, I am SUPER PUMPED that God is on my side. For if God is for us, who can be against us? Rejoice today that God is on your side…through anything and everything….today, tomorrow and forever!

“So, what do you think? With God on our side like this, how can we lose?” Romans 8:31, The Message

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Song Analysis and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Old School Train

  1. juliegvillo says:

    I love that you introduce me to songs I’ve never heard before. =) As a songwriter, I appreciate that you hear sermons in songs because even if the songwriter has something else in mind when writing the song, our hope is always that the message that comes through for others touches their hearts as much as it touches the one who wrote it in the first place. In response to your questions, I *do* believe that God is on our side! That reminder is helpful. I’m going to go to You Tube now, and play that song. Thanks for sharing!

Join the conversation :)

