new year resolutions

I usually make resolutions when the new year rolls around. I’ve never written them down, or reflected back on the ones that I’ve made in the previous years. This year I’m taking a different approach to the new year and this resolution business.

So what is a new year’s resolution? According to wikipedia (which, come on … is ALWAYS reliable): “A New Year’s resolution is a commitment that an individual makes to a project or the reforming of a habit, often a lifestyle change that is generally interpreted as advantageous. The name comes from the fact that these commitments normally go into effect on New Year’s Day.”

Pretty straight forward. Commitments of weight loss, quitting bad habits, recycling more .. that seems familiar.

But this year is change.

This year I’ve been challenged to choose a bible verse and attempt to live it out for the next year. Do you know how hard it is to choose one verse for the entire year? Harder than it seems. This is not to say that I am ONLY focusing on this verse for the next year … but that I will stick this one in my proverbial back pocket for reflection and meditation.

I accept this challenge.

So the verse that I’ve chosen for the 2011 is from Hebrews 12, verse 14 … the NIV version:

Make every effort to live in peace with everyone and to be holy; without holiness no one will see the Lord.

Which verse or idea will you live out in the next year? What kind of resolutions do you make?

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Personal Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to new year resolutions

  1. Kristi says:

    i would pick col 3:17 And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

    be intentional in what i do. and be mindful of the fact that it is all an act of worship to Him. =)

  2. Pingback: The one about the new year « Mcgilla’s Weblog

  3. Sharkbait says:

    I like that idea. I’ve never been much of a New Year Resolution guy/fish.

    Some friends and I are trying out a “One Word for 2011” idea, so I guess it is something similar. But I really like this idea of yours.

  4. Pingback: Holy Holiness, Batman | Stepanana's Stumbles

Join the conversation :)

