Song of the Moment

Ok — some people might not like this post. I’m ok with that. That’s my disclaimer.

As some of you might know, having my iPod on shuffle can be both hilarious and dangerous at the same time. You really never know what you’re going to get. *I* never know what I’m going to get. There is a lot of music on there, and some comes from entire albums that I bought for one song and have never really listened to the rest of the it … you get the picture.

This leads me to the song that I heard in my car on the way to work today. I’ve mentioned before that I think songs have conversations with your soul and therefore connect with you or not, depending on your life situation at that moment. This one spoke so deeply to my soul this morning, that I can’t help but share it with you all.

Who’s the inspiring artist, you might ask? Kid Rock. Yep, I said it … Kid Rock.

The song? “Amen”

I had not heard this song before this morning. Now it might be is on my current playlist. I toyed with the idea of doing another song analysis for this one, but I think it might be more effective to let you listen to the song yourself … and then have a small discussion afterwards. Here you go ….

Ok — what did you think? I thought it was extremely powerful. I’m not saying that I completely agree with everything that Kid Rock mentions in this song. But can you feel his anger? I can appreciate that. Can you feel his passion? I can appreciate that, too. Whether or not you agree or disagree with many of the things he mentions in this song … I think you have to, at the very least, recognize that the central message of this song is to not give up and everyone is loved. There are crazy and corrupt things that happen all over the world, every single day …. and he’s tired of it. We should be tired of it, too.

I wanted to highlight the few lines towards the end of the song:

Somewhere you got a brother, sister, friend, grandmother, niece or nephew
Just dying to be with you
You know there’s someone out there who unconditionally, religiously, loves you
So just hold on ’cause you know it’s true
And if you can take the pain
And you can withstand anything, and one day
Stand hand in hand with the truth

I’m not sure lyrics get anymore powerful than that. You are loved, friend.

Can I get an amen?

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation :)

