The Sound of Snow

Have you ever had one of those moments were it seems as if the world is still and paused just for you?

Fresh snow has that effect on me. When I was in college, I used to work the late shift at Subway, getting off work at 2 or 3 in the morning and then walking the few blocks back to my apartment. I never really minded the walk … it usually gave me some time to clear my head as I jammed to my headphones. I remember one night when it had started to snow just before closing time. My co-worker offered me a ride home, but I declined. I like the snow, and it wasn’t a long walk. After walking halfway home, I was compelled forced struck called to remove my headphones. and listen. Just listen.

I walked a little slower that day. Not sure exactly what I was listening for … but just listening. When I got home, I set my stuff down inside and went back out and sat on the balcony for a little while … just looking, feeling, and hearing the snow. It provided a calm that is indescribable.

We had our first snowfall of the season last night here in Chicago-land. As I strolled in to my apartment last night, the snow was just dusting the ground. The night was still. The snow was sparkling. Not a soul to be seen. Not a footstep to be heard. Quiet. Still. In that moment, I was called to listen once again.

I don’t know what it is about the snowfall that makes my heart light, but it is definitely something that I love. I love that feeling. The snow being a gentle, loving reminder to stop, smile, and enjoy. I love the sound of snow. I hope you have the chance to experience that stillness as we enter into the holiday season.

until next time, friends…

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” ~Psalm 46:10

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Personal Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation :)

