“She” is Love

Ok — so I know I’ve mentioned before that I like lyrics. ‘Like’ is probably the understatement of the year. I’ve convinced myself over the years that I feel musical lyrics on a different level than the majority of the population. This statement isn’t meant to be conceited, though I realize it has the tendency to come off as such, but rather just that I know I’ve mentioned songs to people at numerous times in my life and tried to describe the feeling … and they just give me that deer in the headlights look. Just difference. Just sayin’.

Having said all of that, from the first time I heard this song … I heard a God song in it. The more I listened to it … the more I heard God’s voice … a cry out and praise to God. and I laugh every time I hear it on the radio because I feel like God is hilarious by having all of these different people listening to his word without even realizing it. They feel his love before they know what hit them. It’s wonderfully hysterical. The song is “She is Love” by Parachute. and yes, I realize that the song claims that “she” is love rather than the traditional ‘HE’ we are used to in the Christian lingo …. however, that’s not really point. I’m not here to argue gender of the Creator … I’m here to show how God can use everyday simplicities for his glory.

Here goes…

I’ve heard it’s best to start at the beginning (it is a very good place to start) … so here’s the first verse. (I’m going to put my own comments in italics and the lyrics in bold …. remember that.

I’ve been beaten down
I’ve been kicked around
But she takes it all for me

Ok — so this to me reads (listens?) as a faith story. We are all broken people. We’ve been torn down at some points and kicked around whether physically, emotionally, or spiritually or a combination. and ‘she’ takes it all for me. God knows what’s up. God knows what we’ve been through as these broken people. When we confess and pray and cry out … we are assured here that God is able to take all of that.

And I lost my faith, in my darkest days
But she makes me want to believe

This first line sometimes makes Christians nervous. Admitting that we might have waivered in our faith …. or starting to doubt. I don’t think doubt is bad. I don’t think slipping up on faith is bad either. I think losing it completely is not ideal …. but it’s human to doubt and waiver and especially when things are hard, like in your darkest days. When we start asking those questions, of why all this suffering happens in the world if God is a loving God …. it’s hard to not waiver. “But she makes me want to believe” … and here it is. Hope. We’re not forever stuck in the darkest days … we have hope because we remember God’s love for us. We remember who we are and whose we are. God’s love, God’s children … they make us want to believe in something bigger in this world. Thank God.

They call her love, love, love, love, love
They call her love, love, love, love, love
She is love
She is all I need
She’s all I need

This one I feel is pretty self-explanatory: And so we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in them. ~1 John 4:16. I quote this at the risk of being accused of having “verse-itis” … but this chorus is, at its simplest state saying “God is love”. Period. There are no other gods that love like the big guy upstairs, so to speak.

Well I had my ways, they were all in vain
and she waited patiently
It was all the same, all my pride and shame
She put me on my feet

Anyone else hear a confession here? A confession of trying to do this my own way instead of discerning God’s plan for my life? I tried to get ahead for my own good instead of the greater good of God? and yet, God is with us during this time when we turn away, and God is patient. After trying my own ways, I felt the same pride and shame and with this realization we are able to be redeemed in God’s love … and God can put us on our feet.

And then the chorus is repeated. I told you … the song is short and simple … and yet, it has wonderfully critical and theological ideas embedded within. I have no idea if this song was intended to be written for this particular interpretation. It can just as easily be heard as another love song. I totally get that.

But then again, maybe it’s a love song for all of God’s children in the lyrical and musical style of Parachute. How wonderful that our God is able to use the ordinary for his glory. I love that.

My hope with this song analysis is that, whether you agree with me or not, the next time you hear this song on your ipod or on the radio … you just might think of God. And that makes my heart happy.

until next time, friends…

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation :)

