Yep, they had IM back then….

So we went away from the middle school curriculum that we normally follow for Sunday mornings because I wasn’t crazy about the lesson and found something else that I thought would be a little more interesting for a Sunday after Thanksgiving kind of day.

It was one of those things that I thought was really cool, but wasn’t sure how 6th and 7th graders would take the assignment … so it was with a hope and a prayer that we did this. They were awesome. I need to share some of their work with all of you πŸ™‚

We read part of the prelude to the Christmas story, and chatted about how Elizabeth and Zechariah were expecting John the Baptist when the angel appeared to Mary to tell her she would be the mother of Jesus. So taking all of this in … I told them to pick out 1 or 2 people from the story and write either an e-mail, text, or IM conversation either between the people or just from one to another …

They ran with it…

Here is a taste of what happened (and yes, the screen names are ones that they came up with as well. hilarious)

Instant message between lilmomma764 and beardluver6:

lilmomma764: OMG! Guess wat?
beardlover6: wat?
lilmomma764: This glowin’ angel totally came 2 me and gave me sum new info
beardlover6: kk! wat waz it?
lilmomma764: Im ….. pregnant! πŸ™‚ He will be like totally holy! FYI we r naming him Jesus
beardlover6: OMG girrrlll!
lilmomma764: IKR! GTG. Gonna go shop 4 lil J! Luv ya x 1000
beardlover6: TTFN! Have fun Luv u 2! xo xo

#2:

Email from Gabriel to Joseph

from: gabetheangel@yahoo.com
to: averagejoe@gmail.com
subject: about that whole Christ thing
Message:

Dearest Joe,

I know that the pregnancy thing was a surprise, but you are going to be the father of Jesus Christ, the Messiah, etc. etc. Nothing special, just the most important thing that ever happened to mankind. Good luck with that!

Signed,

Gabriel the Angel Dude

P.S. You can reach me at my cell 1-800-GOD-HOTLINE or by contacting your local prophet.

#3

Conversation between Mary and Elizabeth:

Mary764: Hey Lizy! How’s it goin’ sista?
Lizyb293: wuz up marmar! Notin’s goin on. How bout you?
Mary764: Notin. Guess what happen to ME today Lizy?
Lizyb293: Did an angel named Gabriel come and tell you that you’re pregnant with the messiah?
Mary764: HOW DID YOU KNOW?!? Isn’t it exciting?
Lizyb293: I’m psychic! JK! Haha! I knew that because he came to me and told me that MY son is gonna pave the way for your son
Mary764: HAHA! My son’s more important than yours. ha ha ha hahah!
Lizyb293: Who cares!? OMG! My son’s older!

These totally cracked me up this morning … and the rest are hilarious and awesome as well. It made my day. I hope you enjoy them as well πŸ™‚

until next time, friends…

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Kid Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yep, they had IM back then….

  1. Nikki D says:

    That’s ONE way for Zechariah to get around that whole “I can’t talk” thing… πŸ™‚ Good work, Teach πŸ™‚

    • stepanana says:

      hahaha, i know! they were cracking me up. i still have the papers. I can’t throw them away, they’re too good … gotta think of something to do with them all πŸ™‚

  2. julie says:

    O.M.g! That is HILARIOUS! I’m dying! Oh, Steph, you canNOT get rid of those. They are AWESOME! I love it!

  3. jamie says:

    I so loved this idea, and their responses…what a cool way to make them think about them being real people in the story instead of them just as Bible Characters πŸ™‚

    • stepanana says:

      thank you! i loved the way it turned out, and the kids really enjoyed themselves. i think it makes all the bible stories more tangible πŸ™‚

Join the conversation :)

