Thank you, Thank you very much …

At the suggestion of a very wise person … I have discovered a simple, short and sweet devotion … you can check it out here. I like it a lot. Since they don’t save them, and it changes daily … here is today’s that I thought I would share with all of you.

Jesus answered them, “This is the work of God, that you believe in him whom he has sent.” So they said to him, “What sign are you going to give us then, so that we may see it and believe you? What work are you performing? Our ancestors ate the manna in the wilderness; as it is written, ‘He gave them bread from heaven to eat.’” Then Jesus said to them, “Very truly, I tell you, it was not Moses who gave you the bread from heaven, but it is my Father who gives you the true bread from heaven. For the bread of God is that which comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.” They said to him, “Sir, give us this bread always.”

John 6:29-34

As turkey day draws near, it seems everyone is talking about things for which we are thankful. Everybody is doing it, right? “I’m thankful for my house. I’m thankful for my friends. I’m thankful that I didn’t do as badly on this test as I thought.” But to whom are we directing our thanksgiving? It’s easy to begin an “I’m thankful for” statement and not even use God’s name. Yet as people of faith, Jesus reminds us that our thanksgivings are always to go back to the One who gave us everything in the first place.

The crowds following Jesus had gotten confused. In conversation with Jesus, they told the story of how Moses, the leader of the people at that time, had provided them bread to eat. But Jesus corrected them and said it was God who had provided for their needs. As we make our thanksgiving declarations this week, let us not forget to first thank the One who gave us life and has been continually giving it to us every day since.

Elizabeth Evans Hagan

I like this one a lot. I’ve been thinking lately about the obligatory thankfulness blog since I’ve been on the blogging scene lately and Thanksgiving is in T-2 days. I’m thankful for many things in my life. and I’m recognizing that those things that I’m thankful for are from God. A very gracious and oddly humored God. A compassionate God. A loving God. A God I am grateful to be able to worship freely, and who lets me even when I mess up in every way possible in this life.

and now for the Thankful list…which I’m thankful to God for …

1. I’m thankful to God for my family, whether I see them this week or not, they are the constant that holds me together. I love to see the characteristics that I have because I hang around them, and I’m also thankful for our differences. 🙂 If you’ve met my family … this will make complete sense to you.

2. I’m thankful to God for my friends. Old, new, silver, gold. How does that song go? The people who come into my life and choose to hang around for a while … they deserve a gold medal. Seriously, friends. You rock.

3. I’m thankful to God for the opportunities that show up in my life. I know I don’t always recognize the opportunities when they present themselves, but I’m thankful that God is a persistent God and keeps poking me. One day, I might actually discern what that old man in the sky is up to in my life. 😉

I think that these 3 things will suffice for today. Most of the other things that I’m thankful for really just trickle off these 3 main things. As a certain middle-schooler would say, “The rest are all socks to these hats.”

until next time, friends….

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Personal Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation :)

