Maybe I’m a dreamer…

So it’s almost Thanksgiving time. A lot of blogs, tweets, and status updates will (if they aren’t already) reflect those things that people are thankful for and appreciate in life. I’ll probably jump on that bandwagon at some point..

Until then, I’ve been thinking about my life lately and trying to figure things out. Not all huge things, but small things that have possibilities of leading to bigger things. Spiritual things. Not-so-spiritual things.

I’ve also been wondering, on a related note, about how songs connect with people, especially myself. Why does my favorite song in the whole world, of all time even, not connect with me all the time. It’s still my favorite song, but it doesn’t speak with me on certain days. A new song, that I’ve never heard before might speak to me on these days. I’ve been wondering why this is. I think I’ve come to the conclusion that music (and in my case, lyrics especially) seem to have conversations with my soul. These songs speak to my soul at that particular moment, and this might explain why certain songs connect on certain days. Just a thought anyway.

In light of all of these thoughts swirling around in the ole noggin … here’s the song speaking to my soul today….

Maybe I’m a dreamer
Maybe I’m misunderstood
Maybe you’re not seeing the side of me you should
Maybe I’m crazy
(Maybe I’m crazy)
Maybe I’m the only one
(Maybe I’m the only one)
Maybe I’m just out of touch
Maybe I’ve just had enough

Maybe it’s time to change
And leave it all behind
I’ve never been one to walk alone
I’ve always been scared to try
So why does it feel so wrong
To reach for something more
To wanna live a better life
What am I waiting for?
‘Cause nothing stays the same
Maybe it’s time to change

Maybe it’s hopeless
(Maybe it’s hopeless)
Maybe I should just give up
(Maybe I should just give up)
What if I can’t trust myself?
What if I just need some help?

Maybe it’s time to change
And leave it all behind
I’ve never been one to walk alone
I’ve always been scared to try
So why does it feel so wrong
To reach for something more
To wanna live a better life
What am I waiting for?
‘Cause nothing stays the same
Maybe it’s time to change

And maybe it’s time to change
And leave it all behind
I’ve never been one to walk alone
I’ve always been scared to try

And maybe it’s time to change
And leave it all behind
I’ve never been one to walk alone
I’ve always been scared to try
So why does it feel so wrong
To reach for something more
To wanna live a better life
What am I waiting for?
‘Cause nothing stays the same
Maybe it’s time to change
‘Cause nothing stays the same
Maybe it’s time to change

Until next time friends…

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Song Analysis and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation :)

