Ch-ch-ch-ch Changes…

Sooo..

I’m a little bummed.

I like my family … a little more than a lot. Thanksgiving and Christmas are always the times of year when I can count on there being huge amounts of family, ridiculousness and fun. The rest of the year might involve some times of family gatherings, but these are the rocks. They don’t really change. They’re the constant. I like routine. I don’t always like change.

This year is change.

I suppose this happens as you get older. People grow up, families start their own families, people get busy, cousins are away at college … in my mind I know this. In my heart, I was hoping it would last a bit longer.

This year is change.

This year I don’t even know what’s happening and Thanksgiving is in 2 weeks. The normal routine for my dad’s family’s Thanksgiving is sidelined for a wedding on that Saturday. Thanksgiving day is basically up in the air. Some family has moved away. Some people have to work. Some aren’t able to travel. What’s a girl to do?

This year is change.

I like traditions. Especially the silly ones. I like watching all the men play craps in the garage on Thanksgiving night. I like Aunt Kay yelling at the kids for cheating at the dice games. I like helping others during the day on Thanksgiving who might have spent it alone. I like being together.

This year is change.

This year, I get to make a choice. Who to spend Thanksgiving with … and what does it mean, the day of Thanksgiving. Does it mean having a big dinner with loved ones? That’s what it has always meant in the past… Does it mean hanging out with whoever is your neighbor at that moment? Could be…

This year is change. Interesting change.

I’ll leave you with this quote, that I’m pretty sure describes my own family well:

The family. We were a strange little band of characters trudging through life sharing diseases and toothpaste, coveting one another’s desserts, hiding shampoo, borrowing money, locking each other out of our rooms, inflicting pain and kissing to heal it in the same instant, loving, laughing, defending, and trying to figure out the common thread that bound us all together. ~Erma Bombeck

until next time…

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Personal Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ch-ch-ch-ch Changes…

  1. Kristi says:

    this works out perfectly since you are scheduled to be at my thanksgivings. holla!

Join the conversation :)

