Reasons, Seasons, and Lifetimes.

I’ve heard that quote about friendships. I’m not sure who said it, or the exact words but it goes something like ‘people are in our lives for a reason, a season, or a lifetime.’ I googled it, and it seems that it might be a poem and/or a quote. Either way, I think you get the picture.

Anyway, this is one of those quotes that is always in the back of my mind with all of the people in my life. More often than not, I think these 3 categories overlap. People are in my life for many reasons. The reason for sharing this one today is just to say that I’ve had some very awesome conversations with seemingly random people lately … people who I would consider my friends even, that have touched my heart unexpectedly.

First, I was in southern IL for a wedding a couple of weeks ago. After the reception, I caught up with a Miss Kristi McGill. Since there weren’t many things open at that time of night, we decided to drive around the area for awhile and just chat and listen to music. We’ve learned in the past year that we’re really good driving buddies so this seemed perfect. And it was. It was awesome, actually. We were goofy, we were serious … we sang, we laughed. and the “evening” ended at 3 a.m. near the 6th street park retention pond with us eating Jack in the Box tacos and singing “How Great Thou Art”. See what I mean when I say I’m weird, and God gets me. These are the kind of moments that I hold on to … however weird they might seem to others…

Then I had my bible study group share some amazing faith stories last week in our group. I didn’t know if that would happen since I was leading and they were still getting to know me and it might be a little uncomfortable. But they did it. They shared their lives and experiences. They shared their broken-ness. It was beautiful.

I blogged about the middle-schooler who shared the comment about socks and hats. That’s something that will stick with me for a long time. I’m not sure why … something just clicked there for me. Out of the mouths of babes, right?

Then I had a phone conversation with a friend who I don’t get to see often enough. We probably haven’t spoken for several months at this point, besides the basic facebook comments and such … and yet, we had a very poignant conversation. Very heartfelt and honest and awesome.

Seemingly out of blue, I also had a conversations via intense texting with an old roommate from college last night. She’s recently been baptized and entered into the life of a faithful servant … and we had an amazing conversation about our lives and struggles and joys and concerns. I haven’t talked to this roommate in person in several years. I wouldn’t have been able to have that conversation with her while we were roommates for several reasons … but it just wouldn’t have been possible. Timing is very interesting.

There have been several moments lately, during conversations with people, that the dialogue seems to shift from whatever we were talking about to faith, God, Jesus, or something else related. It’s very interesting. I’m not sure if I’m just more open to it lately, or if God is trying to do some major work in my life … probably both of those. God knows I need that work. It’s all very interesting.

Anyway, to those of you who I am blessed enough to call my friends. I truly appreciate your presence in my life. I hope you’re having a swell day.

until next time…

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Personal Reflections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation :)

