Story Time

Ok. I’m on a blogging roll. Look out world.

Recently, the words to the song “Your Grace is Enough” have been running through my head. One of the lyrics that stands out the most to me is “you use the weak to lead the strong”. Every time, this one gets me. So … its story time. Hang in there … this story is two-fold, and complete with accompanying bible verse.

A few weeks ago, I was asked to sub for the pastor who leads the bible study I go to on Tuesday nights. Maybe the “normal” person doesn’t freak out after saying yes to this, but I never claimed to be normal. I could have said no. I had the option. But I didn’t.

This group of people has been meeting for several years. I just joined in September. and he asked me?? Is he crazy? I kinda thought so. Why not take someone who knows the group better, or is more knowledgeable about the bible and things associated, or someone who has wisdom that exceeds my own by far? There are PLENTY of people in that group who are wise, intelligent, faithful people. Why ask me? I actually asked him why he asked me … the meeting that I had with him on that day had another agenda. Why ask me? He said that he was listening to his life. Interesting.

Fast forward to this past Tuesday. I’ve actually prepared (whoa, take note fellow procrastinators) and am ready to go. I go in early and get the computer and projector all set and what follows is my mind going into mini-freak out mode. What in the world am I doing? Now, I realize its one bible study … I mean, really…how hard can it be, right? The what-if game was in full force. Sheesh. And then, the song comes on. The one. “you use the weak to lead the strong.” Ok, God … now you’re just showing off. To conclude this portion of the story … I was told by the group that I was “allowed to sub again”. Hahaha. I love them. However, it wasn’t because of anything that I did. I’m not even sure exactly what I said during the thing. That was God.

Related Story #2:

This past Sunday, we were talking with the middle-schoolers about the different hats that we wear as people. They all gave examples and such and then we talked about how the only hat that we should really be wearing is that of a child of God, and all the rest will trickle down from there. Then, in a stroke of brilliance, one of the 7th graders said, “So if we’re wearing the hat of being a child of God, then all the other hats should really be socks.” I love that. It’s genius, and simple. We go to teach them, and we’re being slapped in the face with a wonderfully theological statement. Love, love, love.

…and now as promised, the corresponding bible verse:

P.S. I chose to use the message because I just connected with the words better … feel free to look up your own translation 🙂

Take a good look, friends, at who you were when you got called into this life. I don’t see many of “the brightest and the best” among you, not many influential, not many from high-society families. Isn’t it obvious that God deliberately chose men and women that the culture overlooks and exploits and abuses, chose these “nobodies” to expose the hollow pretensions of the “somebodies”? That makes it quite clear that none of you can get by with blowing your own horn before God. Everything that we have—right thinking and right living, a clean slate and a fresh start—comes from God by way of Jesus Christ. That’s why we have the saying, “If you’re going to blow a horn, blow a trumpet for God.” 1 Corinthians 1:26-31

until next time friends…

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Personal Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation :)

