Sirius Rules

I got a new car recently. This post isn’t to tell you about that really. Though, God is definitely weird sometimes and works in that way in my life, I’ve found. When I say God is weird, I do mean that in the most endearing, love-filled way possible. I’m weird … and I need to be dealt with in weird ways. God gets me.

I digress. Anyway… back to the car part of the story. In this car, I get satellite radio. This is new to me. My old car had a broken antenna and a tape deck. I’ve upgraded, apparently. My car also allows me the ability to have 30 .. yes, 30…preset radio stations. This definitely assists my song ADD and has added even more musical input into my life. Within all the stations there are several Christian stations and I’ve found one that I’m particularly fond of. It seems to play songs that are meant for me. I’m not sure what all the other listeners are thinking and feeling when they hear all of these songs that are talking about my life … I suppose I’m just really popular.

Really, this is my extremely long way of sharing this song with you all. I would bet that most have heard it … I haven’t the slightest if it’s new or old or whatever. But it spoke to me. Very convicting, if you must know. I’m pretty sure it’s my prayer of confession everyday of my life…or it should be.

My Own Little World … Matthew West

In my own little world it hardly ever rains
I’ve never gone hungry, always felt safe
I got some money in my pocket, shoes on my feet
In my own little world
Population me

I try to stay awake through Sunday morning church
I throw a twenty in the plate but I never give ’til it hurts
and I turn off the news when I don’t like what I see
it’s easy to do when it’s
population me

What if there’s a bigger picture
what if I’m missing out
What if there’s a greater purpose
I could be living right now
outside my own little world, ooo

Stopped at the red light, looked out my window
I saw a cardboard sign said “Help this homeless widow”
Just above that sign was the face of a human
I thought to myself, “God, what have I been doing?”
So I rolled down the window and I looked her in the eye
Oh how many times have I just passed her by
I gave her some money then I drove on through
in my own little world there’s
Population two, woah

What if there’s a bigger picture
what if I’m missing out
What if there’s a greater purpose
I could be living right now
outside my own little world, ooo
my own little world, ooo

Father break my heart for what breaks Yours
give me open hands and open doors
put Your light in my eyes and let me see
that my own little world is not about me

What if there’s a bigger picture
what if I’m missing out
What if there’s a greater purpose
I could be living right now

I don’t wanna miss what matters
I wanna be reachin’ out
Show me the greater purpose
So I can start livin’ right now
outside my own little world, (yeah)ooo
my own little world, (yeah),yeah, yeah
my own little world, ooo

…and that’s all I have for today, folks. Until next time…

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Personal Reflections, Song Analysis and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation :)

