waiting on the world to change…

I love me some John Mayer. and I jumped on the bandwagon of this song when it was popular back in the day….

As much as I love this song … I really hate waiting. Like … really. Ask anyone who’s met me for more than 5 minutes. I’m not a wait-er. I have patience for a lot of things … waiting for things to pan out and/or change … not one of them.

I get antsy.

I get crabby.

I freak out.

I worry.

It’s not a pretty sight.

I think over the years, I’ve gotten better at the waiting game. Still not perfect, though. Not even close. In recent years … it’s been a struggle to play my hand at this waiting game that is my life.

Waiting for acceptance letters for schools.

Waiting for lay-offs.

Waiting for job interviews.

Waiting for call-backs for said job interviews.

Waiting for finances to work out.

Something that I’ve learned throughout all these waiting periods (which seem continuous most of the time) … is that waiting is not passive. I’ll admit it … at first glance waiting seems like the type of word that radiates passivity. It does not. Waiting is very active.

Waiting does not mean staring at my phone waiting for a job offer. Waiting might mean that I fill out 2000 applications and hope for a bite.

Waiting does not mean sitting around twiddling my thumbs and hoping someone else does that hard work. Waiting might mean interviewing people and asking for advice.

Waiting does not mean hoping someone will notice little ole me sitting here over in the corner. Waiting might mean I have to take risks to do what I should be doing in life.

Waiting can mean a lot of different things … but it is definitely not passive. Even Paul says so…

But friends, you’re not in the dark, so how could you be taken off guard by any of this? You’re sons of Light, daughters of Day. We live under wide open skies and know where we stand. So let’s not sleepwalk through life like those others. Let’s keep our eyes open and be smart. People sleep at night and get drunk at night. But not us! Since we’re creatures of Day, let’s act like it. Walk out into the daylight sober, dressed up in faith, love, and the hope of salvation.[1 Thess. 5: 4-8, The Message]

What does waiting look like in your life?

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Personal Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation :)