mortuusequusphobia

This post might not be what you’re expecting.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve had a mild phobia of ketchup. Recently, I discovered it actually has an official name: mortuusequusphobia, or the unusual fear of ketchup or condiments. [I even had a hard time choosing a picture to accompany this post because most of them made me want to toss my cookies]

I can’t give a reason for this fear. I can’t recall a traumatic event that triggered it. At this point in my life, I even realize how silly and ridiculous it is. I’m not bothered by other tomato related products, and while I don’t care for them all — I actually enjoy salsa, spaghetti sauce, and similar products.

What is the most interesting at this fun fact about myself is other people’s reactions. At first, they laugh and think it a joke. Then they name off as many tomato related product to see if I have issues with those. They then ask what I put on my fries or my hamburgers. Each response is another attempt to convince themselves that this person is bluffing.

Again, I realize it’s a very weird thing. However, I’m a strong believer in the fact that we all have our weird things in life. We have guilty pleasures, embarrassing habits, and childhood fears. These are the things we keep locked in the closet of our minds …. aware that the admission of such personal attributes will outcast us, to some degree, from ‘normal society’.

We forget the truth that there isn’t such a thing as normal. We all have hang-ups, however weird they might be. I think we might find that in admitting these weird things about ourselves, we might allow ourselves a little laugh — and the opportunity to grow in community with those around us. Learning to accept the weird with the seemingly normal in life will help us grow in our humility and humanity.

In the meantime — please don’t ask me to open your stubborn ketchup packet at McDonald’s. :)

What weird attribute do you have?

About stepanana

just a girl writing about life through this lens.....
This entry was posted in Personal Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to mortuusequusphobia

  1. mcgilla says:

    when lotion, toothpaste, conditioner, or even condiments are dried or semi dried around the edges of the bottle… especially if they…. gag…. end up in my hand.

  2. stepanana says:

    ew, disgusting. i hate that!

  3. anonymous says:

    Any latin teacher would say that “mortuusequusphobia” is the fear of the death of horses. Just saying…

  4. Ryan Lamb says:

    Feels great to know I’m not alone in having the fear of ketchup!

  5. meg says:

    Its like I’ve wrote this myself!!! I have the exact same thing :) I thought it was just me!!!

  6. Anonymous says:

    Same i have mortuusequusphobia for as long as i have remembered, and everyone makes fun of me for being afraid of ketchup and other sauces, but not pizza or salsa, they don’t get it.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Oh wow this is precisely my problem, I couldn’t have said it any better. You’re definitely not alone in this, and I too, don’t mind other tomato related products, it’s just Ketchup and other condiments, and I get those exact questions all the time, and a bunch of real life trolling. People don’t get it, but it is nice to know that others understand it too!

  8. Lexi says:

    I thought I was the only one with the fear of ketchup. Everyone in my family teases me about it my brother loves to put ketchup in my hair to see my reaction I freak out every time and take a shower for an hour afraid that it is still in my hair. :(

  9. astrina says:

    O M G ! This is like me reading about myself! I hate ketchup and chili sauce. I have no problem dealing with spaghetti sauce, salsa, chili flakes and etc. Even while going for grocery shopping, I will never ever allow myself to go to the sauce isle! It’s like trying to commit my own suicide if I were ever to go there!

  10. Jenna says:

    Sounds like more people are having a fear issue with Ketchup than one may think… My 3 yr old son freaks out when he sees ketchup, “what kid doesn’t like ketchup?” I always say… He goes so far to refuse to sit by other people (sister) who have ketchup on their plates! It’s ridulious but after reading about others I will be more patient with his fear of ketchup…. Still think everyone is missing out lol! P.S. He’s fine with Salsa but refuses spaghetti sauce!

  11. amanda jackson says:

    omg i told a friend at work about my fear and he sent me this link i honestly never though anyone else would be afraid of this and reading the post it was like i wrote it myself! glad to finally know im not crazy or alone!

Join the conversation :)

